Suspension Because of a DUI
California has some of the toughest DUI laws in the country, and your license will be suspended for six months upon your first conviction. You may petition for a restricted license in some cases (not many). A second and third DUI may result in the loss of your license for two to four years. Sometimes an Interlock Ignition Device can shorten the term of the license suspension. Call us for more information.
If you have a DUI, then your driver license is usually suspended. If you do not take the necessary steps to get your license back, then you can be charged with“driving on a suspended license because of a DUI. " This is a misdemeanor charge that requires at least a 1 year Interlock Ignition Device, 10 days or more in jail, and fines. We will help you with the process to get your license back. Sometimes there are simple mistakes along the way that are not cleared up, and the DMV record shows a suspension.
Suspension Because of underage issues.
You'll lose your driver's license for one year or until you turn 18, whichever is later. We can file a petition with the Judge to ask for a restricted license. Our firm is professional and successful with these requests. There is a long list of offenses that can result in a license suspension. This includes and MIP, transporting alcohol, having an open container in the car while under 21, and vandalism.
Excessive points on driving record
If you have too many points against your driver’s license record, the California DMV will put you on driving probation for one year. A point is any traffic violation. For example, a DUI is 2 points against your license and a speeding ticket is typically 1. Your attorney should fight your case because even a speeding ticket could be those few extra points to suspend your license.